Error message

  • Warning: preg_match() [function.preg-match]: Unknown modifier '2' in getOS() (line 1183 of /home/citywire/public_html/sites/all/themes/tcw/template.php).
  • Warning: preg_match() [function.preg-match]: Unknown modifier 'c' in getOS() (line 1183 of /home/citywire/public_html/sites/all/themes/tcw/template.php).

Local News

Federal Judge Paul Brady and his wife Xernona were in Fort Smith on Monday (April 11) to donate a gun, U.S. Marshal badge and bullets that one belonged to U.S.

Mon, 04/11/2011 - 7:58pm

Fine food, art and a lively wine auction help raise money for cancer support programs.

Sun, 04/10/2011 - 12:59pm

Editor’s note: The following statement about the Sebastian County Spring Cleanup Campaign is from the office of Sebastian County Judge David Hudson.

Thu, 04/07/2011 - 1:13pm

story info submitted by the University of Arkansas at Fort Smith

Senior Design Day on April 29 at the University of Arkansas at Fort Smith will show what the seven seniors in the electrical engineering program have been working toward.

Tue, 04/05/2011 - 12:45pm

Numerous volunteers, many hours and private donations and grants helped open the trail.

Sun, 04/03/2011 - 11:52am

Fort Smith native Travis Stephens didn’t expect to land a top job so soon, but he’s eager to begin work as the CEO and chief economic development officer for the Clarksville-Johnson County Regional Chamber of Commerce and the Clark

Thu, 03/31/2011 - 11:51am

The process began Monday (Mar. 28) to learn what may be buried on top of the Cavanaugh Mound and possibly to learn how the mound was built.

Tue, 03/29/2011 - 8:27am

The 53rd anniversary of Presley’s Army-induction haircut drew fans from several states.

Fri, 03/25/2011 - 5:18pm

story by Aric Mitchell
amitchell@thecitywire.com

Wed, 03/23/2011 - 8:18am

Editor’s note: The following is part of a series of stories The City Wire will post in 2011 about foster care issues and organizations in the Fort Smith region.

Tue, 03/22/2011 - 9:25am

Fort Smith area water usage is up for the first two months of 2011, but it’s too early to know if the increase reflects complete consumer reaction to a 5% rate increase that took effect Jan. 1.

Mon, 03/21/2011 - 7:58am

Super Bowl Champion Brett Goode encourages those who work with youth to not be a “dream killer.”

Thu, 03/17/2011 - 7:32am

The Compass Report is being expanded with the addition of a monthly report — presented electronically as a two-page PDF — on nine key sets of local, state and federal economic data.

Wed, 03/16/2011 - 3:38pm

Tim Mulvihill is eager to move forward with the cleaning and restoration of the historic Cavanaugh Mound in south Fort Smith.

Wed, 03/16/2011 - 10:27am

More than 150 gather in Altus to support a unique reading program for pre-school children.

Sun, 03/06/2011 - 1:54pm

The Charleston Chamber of Commerce hears from a “True Grit” star and praises a superintendent.

Sun, 03/06/2011 - 12:51pm

Members of Arkansas’ Congressional Delegation are again trying to get legislation approved that would mint coins in commemoration of the 225th anniversary of the United States Marshals Service.

Thu, 03/03/2011 - 2:27pm

Revenue for the Fort Smith Department of Sanitation was up more than 5% in 2010, thanks to the addition in June of about 4,900 residential accounts.

Total revenue for the DOS during 2010 was $13.246 million, up 5.46% compared to 2009 revenue.

Wed, 03/02/2011 - 1:25pm

It will take a lot of algae and land to make a dent in the use of gasoline in the U.S., but researchers at the University of Arkansas have developed a process they say could be commercialized within 5 years.

Tue, 03/01/2011 - 6:02pm

The fourth quarter 2010 economy in the Fort Smith region saw momentum weaken, primarily because of rising unemployment figures that offset moderate gains in sales tax collections.

Fri, 02/25/2011 - 2:10pm

Pages

Subscribe to Local News