NWACC reorganizes learner support team

NorthWest Arkansas Community College’s Office of Learner Support Services has recently completed a major reorganization, promoting four educators in the process.

Since assuming the role of NWACC President, Dr. Evelyn E. Jorgenson has consistently addressed the importance of increasing the college’s student completion and retention rates. As a part of that focus, learner support services has completed its reorganization, which includes the merging of the admissions and advising offices and the creation of an associate dean that will oversee the area of student success.

The NWACC Office of Admissions & Advising will serve as a true “one-stop” office to assist students entering the college, said Dr. Todd Kitchen, vice president for learner support. The office will provide support to students with a primary focus on advising and placement through students’ first 15 credit hours of coursework.

Zach Pharr has been chosen as the new director of Admissions & Advising, the release states.

The college’s academic success center will assume responsibility for outreach to students requiring tutoring and other academic support, as well as a new focus on serving students in jeopardy of not being in “good academic standing.”

Eric Vest will assume the role of director of the Academic Success Center.

The office of the associate dean for student success will have the primary responsibility of overseeing the college’s retention and success initiatives. This will include the full-implementation of “Success Planner,” an online networking and intervention tool for faculty, staff, and students, as well as the academic success center, career services and the transfer advising office.

Tay Sha Carter has been selected to serve as the associate dean for student success. Brooke Holt, dean of learner services, will also assume responsibilities for leadership of the office of student records.


In other changes earlier this academic year, Dr. Patrice Whitely was named director of the Title III grant program. She previously has been the director the NWACC Academic Success Center.

Other leaders within the Learner Support Services team include Dale Montgomery, dean of students, and Brenda Green, dean of off campus learning programs.

Five Star Votes: 
Average: 5 (1 vote)

Like This Article? Share It!