Riff Raff, Opinions/Editorials

The urge to save humanity is almost always a false-face for the urge to rule it.
 – H.L. Mencken

Tue, 04/22/2014 - 12:18pm

The Arkansas Lottery Commission and its Director Bishop Woosley, in an effort to make a big correction in financial stability, may have recently caused the lottery agency to become an issue in the 2014 gubernatorial race.

Sun, 04/20/2014 - 6:18pm

Fortunately, The City Wire doesn’t receive many substantive complaints about our coverage. We certainly get our fair share of nitpicking from The Gallery of the Never Satisfied, of which our ameliorative attempts are never, well, satisfactory.

Sun, 04/20/2014 - 4:52pm

Throughout my time as Governor, we have seen many twists and turns in the national economy that have made their impact known in Arkansas. Throughout both the tumultuous and brighter times, I've been extremely pleased by the accomplishments of the Arkansas tourism industry.

Sun, 04/20/2014 - 4:30pm

Because voter turnout is regularly low during midterm elections, and a president’s party has historically lost seats- with some rare exceptions- in Congress during midterm elections, the strategy that campaigns usually adopt is the base-mobilization strategy.

Thu, 04/17/2014 - 5:01pm

6 is the ‘magical’ number that will dominate the national political discourse throughout this electoral year. 6 is the ‘magical’ number of additional seats that national Republicans will have to win this coming November in order to control the U.S.

Sun, 04/13/2014 - 7:26pm

While the group known as Conservative Arkansas proudly on April 7 posted their endorsements in mostly GOP races for the upcoming May 20 Preferential Primary, there are still troubling questions that only Republicans can answer.

Sun, 04/13/2014 - 7:04pm

Chuck Marohn’s recent three-hour presentation delivered to more than 160 Arkansas elected and development officials – including between 15 and 20 such persons from the Fort Smith-Greenwood-Van Buren area – was a blunt indictment of everything we thought we knew about the relationship between muni

Sun, 04/06/2014 - 10:12pm

Leave it to University of Arkansas Vice Chancellor and Athletic Director Jeff Long (with some very hard politicking from the candidate himself) to think outside the box and hire Jimmy Dykes as the new Arkansas Women’s Basketball coach this past week.

Sun, 04/06/2014 - 7:21pm

How often do you hear a debate, among public officials or among residents, about the payback period or the return on investment of a multi-million dollar project before it is authorized by the city’s Board of Directors? Probably never.

Sun, 04/06/2014 - 7:10pm

Hey, neighbor, how are you doing?

Hi, neighbor, I’m doing fine. Well, as long as the warm weather holds.

Yeah, it’s been an awful winter.

Said that right, brother. What have you been up to while you’ve been hibernating?

Sun, 03/30/2014 - 4:54pm

If ever there was a candidates’ self-made trap of destruction during a campaign, it is when an over confident, swaggering candidate rolls out a proposed tax cut during the pre-Federal tax season

Sun, 03/30/2014 - 4:38pm

Over the years, consumers have become increasingly health-conscious, as well as environmentally aware of farming practices. One of the results of this has been a monumental rise in demand for locally grown foods.

Fri, 03/28/2014 - 11:55am

Fort Smith is a great place to live, today, but as with any living thing, today’s actions affect tomorrow’s outcome.

Mon, 03/24/2014 - 4:13pm

With a little less than 60 days until the May 20 preferential primaries, the contest for who will be the next choices for Governor of Arkansas is a rather boring lot.

Sun, 03/23/2014 - 4:09pm

Long time veteran Alma Mayor John Ballentine is not quick to lay the blame on anyone after the city’s 1 cent sales tax failed in a narrow 17-vote margin this past Tuesday (March 11).

Sun, 03/16/2014 - 3:21pm

In those quarters where Obama-bashing is a sport, the situation in Ukraine has given conservative commentators on Fox News and elsewhere more ammunition to bash President Obama.

Sun, 03/16/2014 - 3:08pm

“After my kids are grown I might move to ...”

Sun, 03/09/2014 - 7:13pm

Expecting big changes for the Arkansas General Assembly down in Little Rock after the 2014 elections? Well, think again.

Sun, 03/09/2014 - 1:32pm

“Tom Cotton: Wrong for Arkansas” read a blaring headline of a blog on U.S. Sen. Mark Pryor’s campaign website on Aug. 6, 2013, as Pryor’s campaign anticipated U.S. Rep. Tom Cotton’s (finally) official announcement for a U.S. Senate run.

Thu, 03/06/2014 - 5:26pm

Pages

Subscribe to Riff Raff, Opinions/Editorials