Riff Raff, Opinions/Editorials

Raising of Fort Smith sewer rates in a process that will more than triple the average bill by 2017 is not a problem. It’s not welcome news, but we’ve been living below costs for too long.

Thu, 04/23/2015 - 1:12pm

The Fort Smith area, as noted in a recent commentary, has many great attributes for retirees, but Fort Smith also is a great place to live for families and community leaders are doing more to attract and retain young professional

Tue, 04/21/2015 - 10:59am

Fort Smith embraced selling its frontier heritage to tourists in 1955 when Mayor H. R. “Happy” Hestand appointed Judge Paul Wolfe to lead a committee to restore the Parker courtroom and rebuild the gallows.

Sun, 04/19/2015 - 7:21pm

I recently had an “Aha!” moment.

Sun, 04/19/2015 - 7:05pm

The latest poll out from Talk Business & Politics, Hendrix College and Impact Management Group give Gov. Asa Hutchinson a significant 11% jump to a 63% approval rating.

Wed, 04/15/2015 - 7:26pm

The 90th Generally Assembly has ended, at least the part of it that occurred in the regular session. There’s probably not a more unique feeling in the world. It’s just fun to watch a big, bumpy ride come in for a landing.

Mon, 04/13/2015 - 3:33pm

This week I signed into law three bills that form our workforce-training plan. Afterwards, a Little Rock television station ran a story about a fellow named Lawrence Aaron.

Sun, 04/12/2015 - 7:44pm

According to the Stanford News, a law professor at that particular college is working on his doctorate in psychology and is putting his training to use by putting together a project to promote emotional health among law students.

Thu, 04/09/2015 - 9:51pm

The five appointed Task Forces created by Gov. Asa Hutchinson may indeed change Arkansas governance. This Task Force governance procedure is also a bold political and policy venture. It is seen as an indication of a new day in Arkansas governance.

Mon, 04/06/2015 - 4:35pm

Freedom. Good word. Who doesn’t love “freedom” … at least in the abstract?

Sun, 04/05/2015 - 7:49pm

It’s that time of year again. It arrives the same time each year. A sign this time is here is the number of usually smiling people you see with scowls. Temporarily absent of friendliness and preoccupied with their thoughts, affected individuals may walk past you without greeting you.

Sun, 04/05/2015 - 7:24pm

“Dare to compete” is the title of one the chapters in Secretary Hillary Clinton’s best-selling autobiography, “Living History.” In that chapter of the book, then U.S. First Lady Clinton recalls an instance when though she was still ambivalent on whether to run for the vacant U.S.

Sun, 04/05/2015 - 7:08pm

Having watched and interviewed elected officials for more than 30 years, there are only two with which it was easily and immediately evident why they were popular and successful: Bill Clinton and John Paul Hammerschmidt – men who were not similar in backgrounds, personalities or politics.

Wed, 04/01/2015 - 11:48pm

Despite several versions of on-line petitions and even a harsh rebuke from the chairman of the Democratic Party of Arkansas, Gov. Asa Hutchinson will not issue a “veto” this session.

Sun, 03/29/2015 - 2:23pm

One of the big issues in this year’s Legislative session had to do with “re-homing” of adopted children. It seems that plenty of Arkansas lawmakers decided that practice is a terrible idea.

Thu, 03/26/2015 - 11:59am

John Burris, a political consultant and former Arkansas legislator, recently opined about how Arkansas’ budget has changed for the better. That heading caught my attention, as I am disappointed with the proposed budget.

Tue, 03/24/2015 - 2:49pm

Change is hard to see while it’s happening. I don’t know how my hairline got so high and thin. I just know I looked up one day, and there it was, retreated. Let’s say the state budget is kind of like that: changing slowly. Except in a good way, unlike my situation.

Mon, 03/23/2015 - 8:24pm

Much of our thought process is language-based. As a consequence, our vocabulary and understanding of language can determine the quality of our thinking and understanding about life.

Sun, 03/22/2015 - 10:58pm

Startling word leaked out of the state Capitol this past week. Arkansas voters in November 2016 may not face a referred Constitutional Amendment submitted by the Legislature of the 90th General Assembly.

Say what? You can’t be serious.

Sun, 03/22/2015 - 10:45pm

The good Senator Tom Cotton isn’t acting like the farm boy from Yell County who was dominant in his campaign commercials. Those small town, farm values he loaded up in Dardanelle on the half-ton farm truck for his trip to D.C. must have fallen off somewhere around Walnut Ridge.

Wed, 03/18/2015 - 9:19pm

Pages

Subscribe to Riff Raff, Opinions/Editorials