Riff Raff, Opinions/Editorials

It took about five years, but the American Bar Association (ABA) released an opinion stating that prosecuting attorneys shouldn’t give their letterhead to bill collectors.

Mon, 11/17/2014 - 8:12pm

During my last year in office, I have visited many annual events and celebrated many annual traditions with a sense of nostalgia. At each of these occasions, I was acutely aware that it was my last time there as governor.

Sun, 11/16/2014 - 5:49pm

November in Arkansas may soon to become known for its museum anniversaries and celebrations. This past week, with the usual dose of low, key and casual fanfare, Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art, located in Bentonville, Ark., celebrated its 3rd Anniversary.

Sun, 11/16/2014 - 5:24pm

The natural state of economic affairs in a market economy revolves around the interaction between supply and demand.

Sun, 11/16/2014 - 5:03pm

This week we are to remember the military men and women who served this country — especially those who saw combat and those for whom combat was the last thing they saw.

It is my time each year to remember a soldier who not only helped secure my freedoms, but provided me with life.

Sun, 11/09/2014 - 12:49pm

There was some slight snickering in certain circles when early in his advertising now Governor-elect Asa Hutchinson simply said: “As your governor, we will hit the ground running and never look back.”

He did just that this past week.

Sun, 11/09/2014 - 11:31am

The discussion of how Arkansas Republicans swept the 2014 election cycle will be woefully incomplete if not wholly inaccurate if it does not include in the opening paragraph this name: Miss Ada Mills.

Wed, 11/05/2014 - 9:12pm

I speak to a number of groups week in, week out. Often, I share my analysis and observations about the business and political landscape of Arkansas from what I hope is understood as a detached, objective perspective.

Wed, 11/05/2014 - 3:23pm

If there was ever a year that I despised the political campaign season it is this year, 2014. Every time I turned on the television I was accosted by political ads.

Sun, 11/02/2014 - 7:06pm

Since health care has been such a critical issue in the Arkansas senatorial election, it seems appropriate to offer some facts and analysis. Let me state up front this is my professional analysis and not the official stance of UAFS.

Sun, 11/02/2014 - 4:50pm

During his recent trip to Louisiana, Bill Clinton took time in his speech to thank the people of Louisiana. He thanked them for playing a role in paying for Arkansans’ health insurance. And he was right. Every state that borders Arkansas is helping to pay for the health care of our citizens.

Sun, 10/26/2014 - 8:42pm

Will the political landscape in Arkansas change after Nov. 4? That’s just one of the many questions citizens are pondering as the final surge of political advertising makes it way to mailboxes, email, television sets and media outlets across the state.

Sun, 10/26/2014 - 7:17pm

From the “By Their Actions People/Groups Will Show Their Character” category, the Fort Smith Board of Directors is willing to spend thousands of dollars in legal fees and risk a priceless decline of goodwill to defend a practice that allows them to conduct a portion of their business – OUR busine

Wed, 10/22/2014 - 8:35pm

The Arkansas Supreme Court, waiting until almost the last minute, finally affirmed what Gov. Mike Beebe tried to tell the Legislature back in 2013. And that was this: Any tweaking of the fundamental right for a person to cast a ballot in the state of Arkansas is unconstitutional.

Sun, 10/19/2014 - 5:59pm

Owning a small business is no easy task. Starting a business from scratch, however, requires a mental deficiency or youth. My own excuse decades ago was youth.

Sun, 10/19/2014 - 4:27pm

Dear Congressman Cotton:

Sun, 10/19/2014 - 4:10pm

Now comes the Steel Horse Rally holding great potential to become an event annually drawing thousands of motorcycle enthusiasts to a downtown Fort Smith that through private and public development is moving closer to becoming that “cool” place we all knew it could be.

Sun, 10/12/2014 - 2:34pm

Education continues to be our top priority in Arkansas, and we know that one of our biggest educational challenges is increasing the number of Arkansans who earn college degrees. This week, we received positive news reinforcing our long-term progress toward that goal.

Sun, 10/12/2014 - 2:04pm

The youngest old lion in the pride of Arkansas’ politicians from the era of “retail politics” roared loudly this past week. And like him or not, his words still ring true.

Sun, 10/12/2014 - 12:33pm

The U.S. Department of Labor Promises help is on the way. What comforting words ... help is on the way. But why don’t I feel better?

Mon, 10/06/2014 - 3:36pm

Pages

Subscribe to Riff Raff, Opinions/Editorials