Riff Raff, Opinions/Editorials

The leadership of the Arkansas House of Representatives convened all new members last week for the Legislative Institute. It’s a weeklong series of events meant to prepare for the approaching storm.

Mon, 12/15/2014 - 9:29pm

Ella Beth may have told her Pap paw Asa that computer coding was easy. But this week, Asa Hutchinson, aka Pap paw Asa and the Arkansas governor-elect, met some initial barriers to quickly implement his new plan into Arkansas’ school system.

Sun, 12/14/2014 - 5:40pm

Ophthalmologists, optometrists, and other eye care professionals would say that normal vision is 20/20. Based on that fact, an old aphorism stipulates that hindsight is 20/20, meaning we tend to have normal vision only after the facts.

Sun, 12/14/2014 - 5:23pm

The submitted names for the water park being built by Sebastian County and the city of Fort Smith would be Exhibit A if you were to build a case that creativity and marketing are missing from the tool box of local government leaders.

Fri, 12/12/2014 - 5:15pm

The Iowa State Bar Association released an opinion cautioning attorneys against calling each other unethical.

Thu, 12/11/2014 - 10:23pm

What happened in Fayetteville Tuesday was not necessarily a loss for those seeking more definitive equal protections, and may prove but a short lived win for those who believed such protections were either unnecessary or sanctioned immoral behavior.

Wed, 12/10/2014 - 9:06pm

This past week, a 45-minute “pop-in” visit at the state’s Alexander Unit for troubled teens by Gov.-elect Asa Hutchinson seemed a little puzzling. At first blush, some may have thought the visit was all about publicity.

Sun, 12/07/2014 - 5:46pm

Each year December brings Christmas and uncertainty in the permanency of the Internal Revenue Code.

Sun, 12/07/2014 - 5:37pm

Almost as soon as people started reading news on the Internet, a debate sprung up – is an Internet-based journalist a “real” reporter?

Thu, 12/04/2014 - 6:22pm

Ever since I was in college in the 1980s, it seems that the popular notion was that there are too many licensed attorneys running loose.

Mon, 12/01/2014 - 3:52pm

Before the year is out, it is worthwhile to remember that 100 ago, on June 28, 1914, Archduke Franz Ferdinand and his wife were murdered by a Serb nationalist in the streets of Sarajevo. The death of anyone is tragic, but we remember the event for what it set in motion.

Sun, 11/30/2014 - 10:06pm

The recent passage of one of the newest Constitutional Amendments, simply known as Issue No. 3, very possibly, has broken up one of the state’s iconic breakfast tables. Yes, that’s right.

Sun, 11/30/2014 - 9:51pm

If you fail to plan, you plan to fail. This is one of those proverbs that I heard decades ago and it just stuck in my memory. I’m sure it isn’t an absolute truth. Luck has intervened for some. But for those of us not familiar with luck, this proverb is generally true.

Sun, 11/23/2014 - 8:26pm

Arkansans should watch for a new, powerful commission to be named within the next few weeks. It will be one of the most powerful commissions of seven persons in the state’s history.

Sun, 11/23/2014 - 8:14pm

It took about five years, but the American Bar Association (ABA) released an opinion stating that prosecuting attorneys shouldn’t give their letterhead to bill collectors.

Mon, 11/17/2014 - 8:12pm

During my last year in office, I have visited many annual events and celebrated many annual traditions with a sense of nostalgia. At each of these occasions, I was acutely aware that it was my last time there as governor.

Sun, 11/16/2014 - 5:49pm

November in Arkansas may soon to become known for its museum anniversaries and celebrations. This past week, with the usual dose of low, key and casual fanfare, Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art, located in Bentonville, Ark., celebrated its 3rd Anniversary.

Sun, 11/16/2014 - 5:24pm

The natural state of economic affairs in a market economy revolves around the interaction between supply and demand.

Sun, 11/16/2014 - 5:03pm

This week we are to remember the military men and women who served this country — especially those who saw combat and those for whom combat was the last thing they saw.

It is my time each year to remember a soldier who not only helped secure my freedoms, but provided me with life.

Sun, 11/09/2014 - 12:49pm

There was some slight snickering in certain circles when early in his advertising now Governor-elect Asa Hutchinson simply said: “As your governor, we will hit the ground running and never look back.”

He did just that this past week.

Sun, 11/09/2014 - 11:31am

Pages

Subscribe to Riff Raff, Opinions/Editorials