Riff Raff, Opinions/Editorials

The City Wire recently asked me to write something about the person who is the new Arkansas governor – my old boss, Asa Hutchinson. I was asked to write about him as a person, not about his policies or politics, nor to make predictions about his future, but about Asa, the man.

Sun, 01/25/2015 - 12:20pm

The long awaited speech by Gov. Asa Hutchinson on his health care plans for the state “surprised many people,” said state Rep. Greg Leding, D-Fayetteville, one of the few surviving Northwest Arkansas Democrats in the 90th General Assembly.

Sun, 01/25/2015 - 12:17pm

News about campaign finance reform came out last week that, once again, painted that issue as one primarily pushed by the left side of the political spectrum.

Thu, 01/22/2015 - 8:17pm

Let’s consider this mysterious and allegedly absolute cover of confidentiality under which Fort Smith and federal officials discussed the settlement of the city’s Clean Water Act violations – a settlement now estimated to cost taxpayers and Fort Smith residents $480 million between now and 2026.

Wed, 01/21/2015 - 6:05pm

Last Saturday, news broke of President Obama’s intentions to reshape the tax code in favor of the middle class and working families, which would require raising taxes and fees on the largest financial firms and wealthiest taxpayers in our country.

Tue, 01/20/2015 - 1:17pm

While national political events capture the attention of the majority of our news media, Arkansas lawmakers are meeting in Little Rock writing, debating, and passing state laws that affect our lives.

Sun, 01/18/2015 - 7:42pm

A surprise announcement came about this past week when G. David Gearhart, the chancellor of the University of Arkansas, announced he would resign on July 31.

A national search for the next Chancellor of the state’s largest campus will soon be underway.

Sun, 01/18/2015 - 6:03pm

Have you ever heard anyone say that it’s not easy to attract people to move to Fort Smith? Or maybe you’ve heard someone say we need more development along the Arkansas River?

Thu, 01/15/2015 - 6:26pm

Recently I was reading about people around the nation who take out deeds in lieu of foreclosure and wind up getting called about owing debts on their mortgages years after they thought those loans were well in the past.

Thu, 01/15/2015 - 3:53pm

Arkansas’ political heart has recently been beating at the rhythm of Gov.-elect Asa Hutchinson’s appointments of his senior staff and appointments to executive agencies, and at the rhythm of the swearing-in ceremonies taking place in Little Rock.

Tue, 01/13/2015 - 3:37pm

There is always a perceived “prize” or bragging rights for the member of the Arkansas General Assembly filing the biggest and most complex bill every session of the Legislature.

Forget about winning first place in 2015.

Mon, 01/12/2015 - 6:15pm

In a week in which the world tragically learned (again) the dangers of attaching an unwavering loyalty and willingness to kill and be a martyr for a symbol, U.S. Rep. Steve Womack, R-Rogers, comes forth with a proposed U.S.

Sun, 01/11/2015 - 8:04pm

Solely for the purpose of providing a window into how Fort Smith city staff and the Board of Directors conduct public business, let’s revisit the process to name the water park now under construction in Fort Smith.

Sun, 01/11/2015 - 7:34pm

Nine-and-a-half years ago, I announced my intention to run for Governor of Arkansas. This next week, for the first time since June of 2005, I will not be pursuing or executing this job.

Fri, 01/09/2015 - 2:35pm

Back in November, Arkansas voters passed a ballot initiative that caught some people by surprise because of its provision that effectively lengthens term limits.

Thu, 01/08/2015 - 7:14pm

Unless you are involved in some criminal activity, January is a good time for a business to review its document retention policy. A well designed document retention policy that is consistently followed saves a business money.

Tue, 01/06/2015 - 9:46pm

There’s an old joke about a man with a leaky roof. When it rained, he said he couldn’t fix the holes because it was raining. When it wasn’t raining he’d say, “Why fix the holes? It’s not raining right now.” And so the holes were always there.

Mon, 01/05/2015 - 9:56pm

As the inauguration of Asa Hutchinson, Arkansas’ 45th Governor, draws near, there are hints of a central theme emerging for the inauguration which may not be new, but may flavor his term in office.

Sun, 01/04/2015 - 11:43pm

It’s just another day, really. Another week. Another month. Another year, one hopes, above the daisies and dirt.

But this calendar shift comes with an unavoidable remembrance that, honestly, best serves by being unavoidable.

Sat, 01/03/2015 - 5:25pm

When asked in recent interviews about my past eight years as Governor, I've said repeatedly that it's been quite a ride. When you review the challenges we've faced and the strides we've made, it’s easy to see why.

Sat, 01/03/2015 - 5:23pm

Pages

Subscribe to Riff Raff, Opinions/Editorials