Riff Raff, Opinions/Editorials

If or when the post-Great Recession history of Fort Smith is written, a leading candidate as an historic marker in the economic recovery will be the recent and well-attended cold and muddy groundbreaking that was birthed by the near-death of a Fort Smith hospital system.

Wed, 03/04/2015 - 9:50pm

Religious liberty is at the heart of our constitutional freedoms.

Mon, 03/02/2015 - 6:52pm

An academic approach to heritage begins with the understanding that “heritage” is not equivalent to history or historical facts. Rather, heritage is an appropriation of the past that is used for present-day purposes.

Sun, 03/01/2015 - 5:39pm

This past week, retired Circuit Judge David Burnett, now state Senator David Burnett, D-Osceola, let his temper get the best of him.

Sun, 03/01/2015 - 5:15pm

Before getting too far into this column, let me make it perfectly clear that I despise driving while intoxicated (DWI) checkpoints.

Thu, 02/26/2015 - 8:49pm

One of the most pressing issues that Gov. Hutchinson must face during his first term in office is how to address our costly prison system.

Tue, 02/24/2015 - 10:58am

Last week, I had appointments with two clients. With each client I started our meeting by asking the question, “How was your year?” Both answered that it was one of the worst years ever. To vouch for these clients, both businesses have a history of strong profitability and strong management.

Mon, 02/23/2015 - 5:03pm

It is not too often one sees a veteran lawmaker like State Sen. Keith Ingram, D-West Memphis kicking up dust about legislative salaries.

Sun, 02/22/2015 - 5:10pm

The Fort Smith Board of Directors may not have had a full battery of information when approving a ballot question seeking voter approval of a plan to spend more than $200 million in sales tax revenue collected during the next 10 years.

Sun, 02/22/2015 - 11:20am

By now, a lot of Arkansans have heard about the “open carry” controversy stirred up by a billboard outside of Conway advising citizens that state law allows them to openly carry pistols.

Thu, 02/19/2015 - 3:00pm

The 90th General Assembly – thus far splendidly absent notable drama – is reaching its halfway point. Debates over taxes and healthcare are temporarily suspended, creating an opportunity for other issues to get their deserved attention.

Mon, 02/16/2015 - 1:14pm

It seems as if Asa Hutchinson is enjoying a honeymoon period at the helm of the Arkansas' state government.

Sun, 02/15/2015 - 7:06pm

If you want to keep up with the latest legal issues surrounding the Internet, the Electronic Foundation Frontier is a pretty good site to bookmark and check regularly.

Thu, 02/12/2015 - 6:31pm

I try to understand the perspective of others, specifically those with whom I disagree. If you can’t explain both sides of an issue, you don’t fully understand the issue. You’re just enjoying the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought, as John F. Kennedy would say.

Mon, 02/09/2015 - 5:04pm

The Independent Citizens Commission has set the proposed pay increases for state legislators, judges and constitutional officers. Everyone needs to take a big deep breath and read on.

Mon, 02/09/2015 - 3:30pm

On Jan. 20, Pulaski County Circuit Judge Herbert Wright, Jr. signed an order finding Arkansas’ criminal eviction statute unconstitutional.

Thu, 02/05/2015 - 6:51pm

Any “tax reform” passed by Congress and signed by our President this year, next year, or in any future year will never change this one fact: by design, the sole purpose of levying any tax is to take money from the taxpayer and transfer it to somebody else.

Mon, 02/02/2015 - 4:54pm

Nate Bell of Mena is not going to quit in his efforts to dislodge the dual celebration of Robert E. Lee and Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., celebrated on the same day each January in Arkansas and only two other states. And for that, we all have to admire his “stick-with-it-ness.”

Sun, 02/01/2015 - 2:29pm

From the end of the Civil War until the 1970’s, the South was solidly Democratic, thus making it the so-called “Solid South.” It’s been said that it was Democratic because Lincoln was a Republican.

Sat, 01/31/2015 - 6:35pm

A story the Associated Press ran about a popular smartphone app serves as yet another reminder that technological advances often raise legal issues that courts will have to struggle with sooner or later.

Thu, 01/29/2015 - 8:23pm

Pages

Subscribe to Riff Raff, Opinions/Editorials