Riff Raff, Opinions/Editorials

The last line in the 1970 hit movie “M.A.S.H” is simple and emotionally fitting: “That is all.” It now seems a simple and fitting response to a speech Monday night (Aug.

Mon, 08/24/2015 - 10:17pm

It’s not likely I’ll soon praise the presidency of Jimmy Carter, if for no other reason than dad would disown me. He is not a fan of the Georgia peanut farmer.

Thu, 08/20/2015 - 9:03pm

I spent this past Sunday afternoon reading a mystery. It wasn’t Agatha Christie. It was the City of Fort Smith, Arkansas Comprehensive Annual Financial Report for the Year Ended Dec. 31, 2014 and the unaudited second quarter financial report for the six months ended June 30, 2015.

Mon, 08/17/2015 - 6:07pm

In 2013, right after she stepped down as U.S. Secretary of State, Hillary Clinton enjoyed a high approval rating from the American people.

Sun, 08/16/2015 - 3:31pm

On Monday, Democrat presidential candidate Hillary Clinton proposed increasing federal spending by $350 billion to provide college student debt relief. Here are a few ways to lower student debt f

Tue, 08/11/2015 - 5:39pm

For five miles east of McGehee, Highway 4 is as straight as the Delta farmland is flat. Headed toward the Mississippi River, you see the levee rising in the distance. A few houses appear on your left, and the road abruptly turns.

Welcome to Arkansas City.

Sun, 08/09/2015 - 11:32pm

Recent commentary suggesting citizens should avoid escalation during police interactions to avoid negative outcomes serves only to escalate avoidance of what is a broad and complex problem.

Sun, 08/09/2015 - 11:26pm

Another police officer is dead, murdered in the streets of Memphis, Tennessee. Only a few weeks ago, two police officers were gunned down on the streets of Jackson, Mississippi.

Tue, 08/04/2015 - 11:24am

A decision by the Fort Smith Fraternal Order of Police to “investigate” certain members of the Fort Smith Board of Directors is as understandable as it is unfortunate.

Sun, 08/02/2015 - 6:53pm

I like to think I am an astute observer of the human scene, that I have a good memory, and my knowledge base is rooted in sound reasoning and empirical evidence, but I am not.

Sun, 08/02/2015 - 2:27pm

I have a particular dislike for bookkeepers and accountants who commit fraud and embezzle from their employers. The act is vile and the person committing the fraud betrays their employer’s and co-workers’ trust willingly and continually over period of time through lies and deception.

Wed, 07/29/2015 - 3:02pm

Civic leaders increasingly recognize that the arts, creative place-making and arts tourism not only provide social and cultural benefits to our community but economic benefits as well.

Mon, 07/27/2015 - 3:16pm

As Founding Father James Madison once said, “A Popular Government, without popular information, or the means of acquiring it is but a Prologue to a Farce or a tragedy, or perhaps both." Will the July 27th School Board meeting be a farce, tragedy, both, or neither?

Sun, 07/26/2015 - 5:49pm

My earliest memories of Southside Rebel Pride came when I was in grade school, watching my two older brothers play football for the Rebels. My oldest brother played on the offensive line, and when he was a senior my middle brother became the starting quarterback as a junior.

Thu, 07/23/2015 - 11:05pm

It’s that time again; unbelievably, it has been five years since we completed a countywide reappraisal, so it’s time to do it again.

Mon, 07/13/2015 - 4:06pm

The trust and transparency deficit with Fort Smith municipal government took another hit Friday (July 10) when Mayor Sandy Sanders admitted – maybe unwittingly – that the Board broke state law during a more than two-hour executive session held after the sudden resignation of City Administrator Ra

Sun, 07/12/2015 - 8:59pm

Ray Gosack’s sudden and unexpected resignation as Fort Smith’s City Administrator without a hint of the reason begs one to speculate as to the why. Speculation isn’t reliable in finding the truth, but it doesn’t cost anything. So let’s speculate.

Sun, 07/12/2015 - 7:37pm

My first bill, the Resilient Federal Forests Act, passed the House of Representatives on Thursday (July 9). It is bipartisan legislation that will give the Forest Service the tools it needs to better manage our national forests.

Sun, 07/12/2015 - 1:35pm

Recent numbers reflect well on the Fort Smith metro economy, but there remains a four-letter word that makes unpleasant a more in-depth conversation: Jobs.

Sun, 07/05/2015 - 6:19pm

Some Iraqis are now beginning to say the country should be divided into regions composed of Shiites, Sunnis and Kurds.

Sun, 07/05/2015 - 2:02pm

Pages

Subscribe to Riff Raff, Opinions/Editorials